OCR Living: A New (Directionless) Direction

Essentially, the site is going to be my random, stream of consciousness OCR mind in web form. It could be ugly. And it’s most definitely going to be a train wreck. But, either way, it should be fun to watch.

TM Swingers Pic

Originally, I’d hoped to make OCR Living an online obstacle racing magazine. But, as a freelance writer and editor, I’m lucky enough to have too much work on my plate that actually pays the bills and, unfortunately, not enough spare time to devote to making this site remotely profitable or up to the editorial/journalistic standards I would like.

However, I’m still immensely interested and obsessed with obstacle racing, its health benefits, its pro competitions, and just how much fun and rewarding it is. So I’d like to do something OCR-related. But, if not an online magazine, than what? 

The beauty of the internet is there are no rules. A site doesn’t have to be a magazine; it doesn’t have to be a blog. Ultimately, it can be almost anything.

So, with that in mind, I’ve decided that for now OCR Living is going to be some mutant blog websitey thingy (that’s the technical term). I’m going to launch the “Mud Chronicles,” a blog on here about my personal OCR stuff: training, random thoughts, etc. I’ll also have links to articles I find interesting, videos, and occasionally I might even post an article of my own, some actual journalism.

Essentially, the site is going to be my random, stream of consciousness OCR mind in web form. It could be ugly. And it’s most definitely going to be a train wreck. But, either way, it should be fun to watch.

If you’re an OCR enthusiast interested in blogging about your experiences for the site, or in writing articles, let me know (email me at editors@ocrliving.com). I’d love more voices on here.

-Dan

Leave a Reply

